

MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM GOVERNOR

JAMES C. KENNEY
CABINET SECRETARY

April 15, 2025

Cindy Vigue
Division Administrator
Federal Highway Administration, New Mexico Division
Attention: Rodolfo Monge-Oviedo, Deputy Division Administrator, Rodolfo.Monge-Oviedo@dot.gov
4001 Office Court Drive, Suite 801
Santa Fe, NM 87507

Via e-mail

Re: Transportation Conformity Review and Concurrence

Dear Cindy Vigue,

Thank you for the opportunity to review the Transportation Conformity report and supporting documents for the Amended *RMS2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP)* and *RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)* developed by the El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO). The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) is satisfied that all requirements are met, and transportation conformity is demonstrated. The purpose of this transportation conformity analysis was to determine if EPMPO's 2050 MTP and the 2023-2026 TIP are consistent with emissions requirements for the Sunland Park, New Mexico portion of the El Paso-Las Cruces, Texas-New Mexico 2015 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) nonattainment area and the Anthony coarse particulate matter (PM₁₀) 24-hour NAAQS nonattainment area. Per guidance from the consultative partners, an interim emissions test no-greater-than baseline-year was developed for the portion of Doña Ana County near Sunland Park, New Mexico, non-attainment area, and a budget test was developed for El Paso County using a one-hour budget. EPMPO demonstrated that projected on-road mobile nitrogen oxides (NOx), volatile organic compounds (VOCs), and PM₁₀ emissions for the 2027, 2032, 2040, and 2050 analysis years were lower than the 2017 baseline year emissions.

If you have questions about our review, please contact Neal Butt of my staff at (505) 629-2972 or neal.butt@env.nm.gov.

Sincerely,

DocuSigned by:

Cindy Hollenberg

Cindy Hollenberg, Chief
Air Quality Bureau
New Mexico Environment Department

cc:

Jose Campos, Planning Team Leader, Federal Highway Administration, Texas Jose.Campos@dot.gov

Steven Gisler, Bureau Chief, NMDOT Environmental Bureau Steven.Gisler@dot.nm.gov

Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director, El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization Ecalvo@ELPASOMPO.ORG

Doug Booher, Environmental Affairs Division, Director, TxDOT c/o Tim.Wood@txdot.gov

Casey Wells, Systems Planning Director, Transportation Planning and Programming Division, TxDOT casey.wells@txdot.gov

Jeff Riley, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6, Dallas riley.jeffrey@epa.gov

Marc Oliphant, Community Planner, Federal Transit Administration marc.oliphant@dot.gov

Sarah Thomas, Air Quality Division, TCEQ Sarah.Thomas@tceq.texas.gov